SAINT LUKE CATHOLIC CHURCH SCHOOL COMMISSION

BYLAWS

(Revision Date: May 5, 2015)

Article I: Name

The name of this body shall be the School Commission of the Parish of Saint Luke in Meridian Hills, Indiana, hereinafter referred to as the Commission.

Article II: Purpose and Function

Section 1: The Pastor and the Parish Pastoral Council establish the Commission as the policy-making and planning body for Saint Luke School. Commission policy and decisions shall be binding throughout the School upon ratification by the Pastor. Commission policy and decisions shall be ratified by signature of the Pastor using a process and procedure established and approved by the Pastor.

Section 2: The Commission shall be responsible to the Pastor and the Parish Pastoral Council for the following:

- Developing through research, evaluation, and constituent input, strategic planning and specific goals and objectives consistent with the mission of Saint Luke Catholic School.
- Providing appropriate oversight and assistance to the Principal in his/her efforts on an on-going basis to accomplish the goals and objectives developed by the Commission.
- Conducting a formal, annual evaluation of the Principal on how he/she has administered Commission policy and met the goals set by the Commission using prescribed performance appraisal process from the Archdiocese of Indianapolis.
- Developing the annual operating budget for the School in conjunction with the Financial Committee of Saint Luke Parish.
- Achieving, through the Principal, Archdiocesan and Parish goals for Catholic School Education.
- Reporting the status of the School to the Parish.
- Directing the implementation of Archdiocesan educational policy in the School.

Section 3: The Commission shall establish the necessary means and instruments to communicate Commission policy and decisions to the Parish community.

Article III: Membership

- Section 1: The Pastor and the Principal of the School shall be ex-officio, non-voting members of the Commission and shall not be counted for the purposes of establishing a quorum.
- Section 2: Eleven (11) registered Saint Luke parishioners, eight (8) of whom are elected by the parishioners and three (3) of whom are appointed by the Pastor shall be voting members of the Commission. A minimum of six (6) members will be from the Saint Luke School population, and at least three (3) members will be from the Parish-At-Large community, who do not anticipate having children attending Saint Luke School for at least two years from the time of election or appointment.
- Section 3: In order to provide for staggered terms, the Commission shall be divided into three classes. Class One shall be made up of three (3) elected candidates and one (1) appointment. Class Two shall be made up of two (2) elected candidates and one (1) appointment. Class Three shall be made up of three (3) elected candidates and one (1) appointment. All three classes shall total to eleven (11) members of the Saint Luke School Commission.
- Section 4: Members shall serve terms consistent with the needs of the make-up of the Commission as determined in Article III, Section 3. No member may serve more than two consecutive three-year terms. Membership terms begin on July 1 and end on June 30.

Article IV: Officers

- Section 1: The officers of the Commission shall include a President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The officers shall be elected by a majority vote of the Commission. Election of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer shall occur at the June meeting of the Commission.
- Section 2: Officers of the Commission shall be elected to a one-year term. No officer may serve more than two consecutive terms in one office.
- Section 3: The duties of the Commission officers shall be as follows:
 - President Shall preside at all meetings and represent the Commission at all Parish Pastoral Council meetings. President shall recommend to the Commission for approval all committees and make appointments to such committees from School Commission members. President shall be an exofficio member of all committees with the exception of the Executive Committee, where the President shall have full voting rights and preside.
 - Vice-President Shall preside in the absence of the President or when the President desires to introduce, second, or speak to a motion.
 - Secretary Shall be responsible for managing the following: maintaining accurate minutes of meetings, forwarding the minutes to each Commission

- member, maintaining all correspondence and providing necessary communications to Archdiocesan and Deanery Boards and Commissions.
- Treasurer Shall be responsible for reporting to the Commission on the financial status of the School.

Article V: Executive Committee

- Section 1: The Executive Committee of the Commission shall consist of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The purpose of the Executive Committee is to formulate the Commission meeting agenda.
- Section 2: The Principal of the School shall be the Administrative Officer of the Commission and shall be responsible to the Commission for implementation of Commission policy.
- Section 3: When the Commission is not in session, the Executive Committee shall have and exercise all of the authority of the Commission in the governance of Saint Luke School except as such authority: 1) is limited by Archdiocesan or Parish statute; and 2) the Executive Committee is not empowered to materially amend, revoke, or contravene a resolution or policy of the Commission without a resolution of the Commission and ratification of the Pastor. The Executive Committee shall report to the Commission, for acceptance at its next meeting, any action it has taken.

Article VI: Meetings

Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held on a monthly basis, with the first meeting to be held at the discretion of the President, in August or September, and the final meeting to be held in June. There will be no regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission in July. Special meetings may be called by the President, the Principal, or the Pastor, and shall be called by the President upon written request of one-third of the Commission members. Written notice must be sent via email at least five days prior to special meetings.

Article VII: Ouorum

A simple majority of the voting members of the Commission constitutes a quorum for each meeting.

Article VIII: Bylaw Amendments

The Bylaws may be amended by a vote of two-thirds of the voting members of the Commission and formal ratification by the Pastor. Commission members must receive written notice about Bylaw amendments one month before the vote to amend.